Run-Down Forums Forum Index Run-Down Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch

Run-Down Forums Forum Index
Training Talk
Training for marathon....

View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2002 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Im new to running and XC and started maybe a year ago. Im in 8th grade, and they don't have a track of XC team till high school. An older friend of mine, who runs the NY marathon almost every year, suggested that I try it next fall. After doing a couple of local 5k's and going to a couple of highschool track meets Im greatly discouraged. My best friend is also training for 10k's and Im just trying to get back into my prime. Does anyone know anytips generally for running longer distance such as 10k and higher? How to get better and faster than my competitor? Are there any runinnng secrets out there for long distance? What about diet? Would also appreciate a few references, like books, for stuff on mind over matter.
Eternally grateful,
Zeth
Distance_Guru
World Class
World Class

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2002 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off I'm glad to hear your motivated to try some races. On the other hand I don't think you should run a marathon for a while (like until after high school) they're pretty rough on a growing body. My advice for running longer races (5-10k's) is just run, get out there and try to run at least 4 or 5 days a week keep your weekly mileage around 15-25 I don't think you will need to top 30 for a while yet. Just gradually work on increasing the distance you run (no more than about 2-3 mile increases from one week to the next) and the distance of your long run. Beyond this I would need to know more as far as what you are doing now before I can give you any more training advice.