Training Talk
Bleep Test

Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Anselm Murphy
Water Boy
Water Boy

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2001 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im English so i dont know if they have the bleep test in america.
For those who dont know, its a fitness test where you have to run between two markers 20m apart, before a tape that is playing beeps. You have about 10secs to get to each marker, but once you done it a few times, it goes up a level and the bleeps get closer together. When you cant keep up any more u r out, and the level and bleep you go out at is your score.

I have about 5 weeks to train for this.
I think my old injury is ok, and I've been running again for several months, doing 3.5 miles a day. I have got pretty good at this distance, but I don't seem to be any better at doing things where I get tired quicker, like the bleep test.
What would be a good way to train for this?
I can't use a track though(not one near enough) and all my training is done in the street, on a circuit that is roughly 560m long ( 10 of these makes up my 3.5mile run)
I was thinking of instead of just doing 10 laps of this distance, i could start slow and gradually decrease the time I have to do the lap in, untill i can barely make it in time and am very tired, to kind of simulate the bleep test.
What u think Dan?
Cheers! (sorry about the long post!)
Conway
Olympic Medalist
Olympic Medalist

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2001 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote