Run-Down Forums Forum Index
Training Talk
middle school training

View previous topic :: View next topic  
megaman
Water Boy
Water Boy

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2001 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my first year of coaching x_country at our local middle school(grades6-Cool. Ihave about 10 kids who run about a 6:20 pace for 2 miles. How many 400 repeats should they be able to do now and should I be able to work them up to 800's in about 4 weeks?
Dan
Chief Pontificator
Chief Pontificator

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2001 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What race distance are they training for, 3k/2 mile? You'll probably want to have them doing 6, *possibly* as high as 8, 400's at about 90-95 seconds per. Progressing to 800's would be good, with the pace being closer to 95 per lap. However, you know the kids much better than I do -- are they ready to handle this sort of training at their age without losing the enjoyable aspect?

Dan
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
megaman
Water Boy
Water Boy

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2001 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right now I leave it up to the kids. There are a cfew kids that want to train hard. I just wasnt sure where the cut off line should be. For myself my speed work totals about 10% of my weekly mileage. I didn't know if that holds true for kids that age.Thanks for your input.The races are between 1.7 and 2.0 miles, sometimes 2 within the same week. during those weeks we don't do any speed work. There are only 2 weeks like that otherwise we race on tues. only. Our State championship is on Nov.4. The defending State champ is running for me and wants to repeat, Ihave a hard time slowing her down on easy days though.She does her 400's in 75 when I want her to be at 95.

[ This Message was edited by: megaman on 2001-09-28 10:57 ]
Dan
Chief Pontificator
Chief Pontificator