Run-Down Forums Forum Index Run-Down Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch

Run-Down Forums Forum Index
Health & Nutrition
Shin Splints

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Run-Down Forums Forum Index -> Health & Nutrition
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2001 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
I'm a Sophomore in High School and I run distance. During my Freshman year of Croos Country I had mild shin splints that went away pretty fast but recently that have come back and are almost unbearable. I can barely walk after I run at our meets. I saw the info you had about shin splints on your webpage but I'm not sure I understand.

I got the tire tube and tide a loop in it. You put it around your foot and move your foot in a figure 8 right? Do you do it standing up or sitting down. I've tried alot of things but I can't really feel my shins doing work.

Any help is appreiciated.

[Anonymously Posted by: 'Rob Martinez']
Dan
Chief Pontificator
Chief Pontificator

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2001 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rob,

I feel your pain... Sad

I've been told that my use of the term "figure 8" is a bit confusing. In reality, you are simply doing circles with your foot, but changing directions every now and then. Best to do it sitting down with your leg extended out in front of you, heel on the ground or leg propped on something. That way, you don't need to worry about stabilizing, which takes away from the exercise. You should feel tension down the front of the shin muscle. If not, try pulling back harder and/or go for longer.

Dan
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2001 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay Thanks Alot Dan I'll try it out!

[Anonymously Posted by: 'Rob Martinez']
juan

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2003 10:19 am    Post subject: shin splints really bad1111111 Reply with quote