Run-Down Forums Forum Index
Training Talk
Can I predict my 5K time?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
mjsbossman
Junior Varsity
Junior Varsity

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2000 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello (Dan), I havnt raced a 5K in a while, but next week on Thursday we have a meet, against an easy team. Last year, as a sophomore, I was on the Frosh/Soph team so I only raced 2 mile races. My best time at the beggining of the year in the 2 mile was 12:45. For one race, my coach let me run with Varsity on a 5K course (the race was in the middle of the season), and my time was 19:50.

Now, this year already my 2 mile time is 10:45, but dont know what to expect in the 5K race! BTW, my next race is on the same 5K course I ran last season. This is going to be our first league dual meet of the season. Do you think a sub 17:30 is our of the picture? This is a flat fast course.

Ok, a couple weeks ago we ran a 5K race on a very hilly course, and I ran it in 20:29. How the hell can this happen to me? It had some mnoster hills, and I did in fact go out way to fast, but some kid who I beat in my last meet (with my 10:45 time) got about 19 minutes flat.

Also, in the past few days of practice, I have had alot of lactic acid in my quads. On Thursday, we did cutdowns like this: 10-10-5-5-4-4-2-2 (minutes), all at 5K race pace, with a 1 minute rest between sets. During those, lactic acid was slowing me down. Is it time for me to to tempo runs? Hill repeats at full speed? Dan please help!
Dan
Chief Pontificator
Chief Pontificator

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2000 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you answered your own question about why you ran 20:29. Combining a hilly course with going out too fast and not having much 5k experience is a sure way to hit a bad time. Sad

Assuming your 10:45 and 19:50 are both accurate and comparable (always big assumptions about any cross country or road race), then a 17:30 should be very much possible.