Run-Down Forums Forum Index
Training Talk
Rest ?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
gsango
Lurker

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 12:28 pm    Post subject: Rest ? Reply with quote

Hi there
I'm just beginning trying to get into running. I'm 17 and live in the UK. i've been running for about 3 months and run a 3 mile hill run everyday. But recently i hurt my knee and had to rest it. I go to a chiropractor and he told me that i was running to much. he said that the muscle takes at least 48 hours to recover and develop any new muscle. My problem is that whilst looking over the internet on running pages , the majority of websites recommend training programs where you run everyday. What are your views on the issue of resting :question:

thanks alot
Mark
Ps: nice website Thumbs Up
Dan
Chief Pontificator
Chief Pontificator

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did he specify what muscle was hurt and what the nature of the injury is? A set 48 hours to heal a muscle is a rather odd diagnosis...

Hill running can be pretty taxing on the knees, so I would try mixing up some flat, soft surfaced terrain and see how you feel. Let the knee rest a bit now just to reduce soreness and any inflammation, then ease back into it and see if you can continue on with a daily schedule.

Dan
Distance_Guru
World Class
World Class

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote